30 Under 30

ILA's 30 Under 30 list celebrates the rising innovators, disruptors, and visionaries in the literacy field.

Alex Lim
Allister Chang
Cody Miller
Daniel Reichard
Danje Morris
Elaysel German
Eugene Pringle Jr.
Farhana Hoque
Francis Jim Tuscano
Freshta Karim
Gerald Dessus
Hayley Niad
Jacob Olaoluwa Sule
Jean dAmour Ndahayo
Karlos Marshall
Katie Duffy
Kirsten Musetti Tivaringe
Mahbuba Hammad
Maria Morphin
Marina Meic
Marley Dias
Matt Panozzo
Michelle Valerio
Mu Tien Chen
Nandini Varma
Nangamso Mtsatse
Patrick Burke
Sarah Grant
Shontoria Walker
Yessica Martinez

These educators, researchers, and advocates represent some of the best and brightest emerging leaders working to achieve our collective mission: literacy for all.

Read about our 2019 class of 30 Under 30 honorees.


Nominate a literacy champion

Nominations are now closed for the next ILA 30 Under 30 list, which will be published in January 2021. However, we accept nominations for future lists on a rolling basis. Submit a nomination for yourself or a colleague here.

Honorees on the 2021 list will be announced in the January/February 2021 issue of Literacy Today and will be promoted across ILA's platforms. Each honoree receives a complimentary one-year ILA membership, is recognized at an ILA conference, and joins a dynamic network of literacy leaders.

30 Under 30 honorees become important members of the ILA family. Past recipients have served as General Session speakers as well as session presenters and moderators at our conference. They have written extensively through our publishing platforms, volunteered for task forces, and become valuable members of local chapters and affiliates.


Prior lists

Click below to read about past 30 Under 30 honorees.

Note: The program moved to a biennial schedule, starting with the 2019 list.


Keeping up with 30 Under 30

We continue to highlight the work of our 30 Under 30 recipients beyond the release of each list. Check out what some past honorees have been up to: