Awards & Grants

Exemplary Reading Program Award

The Exemplary Reading Program Award recognizes outstanding reading and language arts programs at all grade levels (elementary, middle, and high school). Its purpose is to call the public's attention to outstanding programs in schools throughout Canada and the United States. Each participating state and provincial council, with an active ERPA committee chair, may choose one winning school a year.

All public, private, charter, and parochial schools in the United States and Canada are eligible for the award provided

  • The state or province in which the school is located has an Exemplary Reading Program Award Committee currently in place to judge program applications from that state or province
  • At least one faculty or staff member of that school is a current ILA member

Deadline: December 15


2021 Chapter Award Recipients

For additional information, contact Chapter and Region Services.

2019–2020 State/Provincial ERPA Chairs

Alabama Literacy Association - Jerry Bullock
Arkansas Literacy Association - Erin Shaw
Georgia Association of Literacy Advocates - Dawn Owens
Iowa Reading Association - Julie Neal
Illinois Reading Council - Janel Sebeny
Keystone State Literacy Association - Lynda Morley
Literacy Association of Tennessee - Randall Kincaid
Louisiana Reading Association - Sherlyn Powell
Mississippi Literacy Association - Beverly Moffitt
North Dakota Literacy Council - Brenda Seehafer
Nebraska State Reading Association - Julie Agard
New York State Reading Association - Pat Shea-Bischoff
Palmetto State Literacy Association (SC) - Melanie Guill
State of Maryland Literacy Association (SoMLA) - Christine L. Sparr
Texas Association for Literacy Education (TALE) - Matthew Panozzo
Virginia State Reading Association - Tammy Milby
Wisconsin State Reading Association - Colleen Pennel